Tips - Sunday 23rd May 2021

Each week we will update this page with the latest football bets, tips and match previews from all Premier league games! As you are now a member of the Free BetInfo24 Football service we will drop you an email to let you know that the latest tips are available. 


Treble:

Liverpool

Leicester / Tottenham

Man City

Pays 21/4

Bet £5 Get £40 Free With BetVictor


Goals Acca:

Sheffield United vs Burnley UNDER 2.5 | Leicester vs Tottenham OVER 2.5

West Ham vs Southampton BTTS |  Fulham vs Newcastle BTTS - No

Pays 12/1

Bet £5 Get £40 Free With BetVictor


Buy Shares In Our £800k Football Pool To Massively Increase Your Chances Of WINNING The Jackpot - Closes 11pm Friday

CLICK HERE


Premier League Betting Previews: Sunday 23rd May 2021

Arsenal vs Brighton - 16:00 - Sunday 23rd May 2021 - Sky Sports

Arsenal @ 8/13 Draw @ 31/10 Brighton @ 9/2

Arsenal: LWWWW

Brighton: LWLDW

Arsenal host Brighton in their final game of the 20/21 season, with three late goals keeping their slim hopes of European football alive.

The Gunners left it late as they beat Crystal Palace 3-1 at Selhurst Park in Roy Hodgson’s final home game as the Eagles manager. That win means the Gunners come into this game in ninth place and on 58 points, a win for Arsenal, coupled with defeats for both Tottenham and Everton would see them move into seventh.

Hosts Palace had the better of the early exchanges in Roy Hodgson’s final home match in charge, with Gary Cahill, Christian Benteke and Jeffrey Schlupp all going close. Schlupp could count himself lucky after his challenge in the fifth minute only produced a yellow when it could easily have been red.

It was Arsenal who took the lead in the 35th minute through Pepe, who volleyed in superbly from Kieran Tierney’s cross.

Palace equalised just after the hour mark through Christian Benteke, the in form Belgian heading in from Andros Townsend’s free-kick for his fourth goal in as many matches.

Both sides pushed for a winner late on but it was Arsenal through Martinelli who went ahead, with the youngster bundling in Martin Odegaard’s cross in the 92nd minute.

Pepe started and ended the scoring in the 96th minute, with his strike sealing the win with a fine run and finish for his second goal of the match.

That was a great win for Arsenal who come into this game on the back of four successive wins. It’s the first time they have achieved that feat under Arteta, the Gunners have also won four consecutive away matches in the competition for the first time since October 2016.

Arsenal picked up their first Premier League victory against Crystal Palace since January 2018, having been winless in five against the Eagles prior to today.

“Yes, it was a crucial moment because we wanted to go into the final day with every chance to be in Europe next season. In order to do that we knew we had to win today and wait for some results, and with the way the game was developing, we were running out of time and it looked difficult. But at the end we found a way to do it.”

“Well the change in momentum was with the things we did really well in those periods, and then when we stopped doing those things [it changed]. We started playing the game we wanted to play, the plan that we wanted to do, avoid what they want to do and then when you do that, you and in control and we had the chances and we had the dominance in the game.”

“You saw me on the touchline. I’m so happy. When you’re able to win a game in the last minute, it’s always really pleasing because it shows the team how much they want it and [how much they] believe up to the last whistle, so really good.”

MIKEL ARTETA TOLD HTTP://WWW.ARSENAL.COM THAT HE WAS DELIGHTED WITH HIS SIDE AS THEY SCORED TWO LATE GOALS AGAINST CRYSTAL PALACE.

Arsenal host Brighton this weekend.

Seagulls Stun City

Brighton come into this match on the back of a stunning 3-2 victory over Premier League champions Manchester City.

Graham Potter’s men came from 2-0 down to overcome ten man City to record a stunning win in a five goal thriller at the Amex. That win was Brighton’s ninth of the season and moves them into 16th place, a win over Arsenal would be the perfect end to their season.

The champions City had the perfect start as they went ahead after just two minutes at Amex Stadium, with Ilkay Gundogan arriving at the back post to head in from Riyad Mahrez’s cross.

But Man City were reduced to 10 men in the 10th minute when Joao Cancelo was shown a straight red card for the denial of a goal-scoring opportunity, bringing down Danny Welbeck as the forward sought to run through on goal.

Despite the man disadvantage Phil Foden doubled City’s lead early in the second half, picking the ball up inside his own half and shrugging off several challenges before firing low across Robert Sanchez in the 48th minute.

Brighton halved the deficit two minutes later through Leandro Trossard’s powerful strike, and Adam Webster levelled the score when he headed past Ederson in the 72nd minute.

The winner came with 14 minutes left as Dan Burn had a shot saved but reacted quickest on the follow up to score his first Brighton goal.

That was Brighton’s first ever Premier League win over Manchester City and their best win of the season. They had lost each of their previous seven against the Citizens by an aggregate score of 21-2.

This was just the second time in Premier League history a team starting the day top of the table has led by 2+ goals and lost, after Man City themselves did so against Manchester United in April 2018.

 “It was an emotional feeling in the stadium and I thought the players gave a top performance which the crowd appreciated. The supporters were fantastic and it was a great game.”

“Obviously we benefitted when they went down to ten men so early, but we still had to play well and with the personality that we did.”

It’s not easy to play against ten especially when you go 2-0 down but we believe in what we are doing. Sometimes you don’t get the results for the performances you put in because it’s a competitive league. But we have improved and we have a young team that can get better and better.”

I am really pleased for the players. They have had a tough year, they have stuck at it and it’s nice to enjoy a fantastic victory with our supporters and get to 41 points.

GRAHAM POTTER TOLD HTTP://WWW.BRIGHTONANDHOVEALBION.COM THAT HE WAS PROUD OF HIS PLAYERS AFTER DEFEATING MAN CITY.

Betting Tips

  • BTTS @ 4/6
  • Pierre Emerick Aubameyang to score first @ 13/5
  • Danny Welbeck to score first @ 7/1

Aston Villa vs Chelsea - 16:00 - Sunday 23rd May 2021 - Sky Sports

Aston Villa @ 6/1 Draw @ 7/2 Chelsea @ 9/20

Aston Villa: WLDLW

Chelsea: WWWLW

Aston Villa host Chelsea in their final match of this season with the Blues desperate to secure their place in next seasons Champions League.

Dean Smith’s side come into this match on the back of an excellent win over Tottenham, with the Villans boosted by Jack Grealish’s return to the starting line up. That win saw Villa move onto 52 points and remain in 11th, with a win here rounding off a campaign tinged with slight disappointment.

Spurs took the lead in the 8th minute through Steven Bergwijn’s superb strike, with the Dutchman’s effort nearly bursting through the roof of the Villa net.

The hosts then gifted Villa an equaliser when Sergio Reguilon completed a magnificent own goal to score the 1,000th own goal in Premier League history.

Ollie Watkins completed the turnaround six minutes before half-time, capitalising on another mistake from the Spanish left back to complete a close-range finish for his 14th goal of the campaign.

Anwar El Ghazi and Watkins then missed further golden chances for Villa to extend their lead before the break.

Spurs rallied in the second half, but Bergwijn and Harry Kane were both denied by Emiliano Martinez as they fell to a first home defeat under interim head coach Ryan Mason.

That was a brilliant win and result for Aston Villa, who registered their ninth away Premier League match of the season, their most in a single campaign since winning nine in 2009-10 under Martin O’Neill.

“We’ve had some performances like this throughout the season, Arsenal away, Liverpool at home…”

“But there were a few questions thrown because it has been, and I can’t get away from it, it’s been an inconsistent second half of the season.”

“But we’ve been missing our best player as well, in Jack Grealish.”

“But I think, I believe, our first XI can go and compete with anyone and because it’s our second season, we will get stronger next season as well; these players are getting better and better.”

“Ollie Watkins was magnificent in his pressing here, backed up manfully by the people behind him, but also defensively, I thought we got our structure really good.”

“Very difficult to stop a rampant Tottenham frontline but we did it and we’ve had 20 attempts on their goal, which shows our attacking intent as well.”

DEAN SMITH WAS DELIGHTED WITH HIS SIDE WHEN HE SPOKE TO HTTP://WWW.AVFC.CO.UK

Villa host Chelsea in their final Premier League fixture

Blues One Win Away

Chelsea come into this match on the back of a 2-1 win in a fiery encounter with Leicester City, the side who beat them in the FA Cup Final three days previous.

Two second half goals from Jorginho and Antonio Rudiger were enough to see Chelsea avenge their FA Cup final defeat with a victory that saw Leicester drop out of the top four for the first time this season. That result means Chelsea have moved up to third in the Premier League after their 19th win of the season.

Chelsea had the better of the first-half chances at Stamford Bridge, with Ben Chilwell firing across goal early on and Timo Werner having two goals disallowed, one for handball and another for offside. That was the 14th time this season that Werner’s goals were chalked off.

Rudiger eventually broke the deadlock two minutes after the break (47), tucking the ball home after Chilwell’s corner was deflected into his path.

The Blues were then awarded a penalty after a Video Assistant Referee review for a Wesley Fofana foul on Werner, which had originally been awarded as a free-kick. Jorginho sent Kasper Schmeichel the wrong way from 12 yards, cementing his spot as Chelsea’s top scorer for the season with seven goals, all from the penalty spot.

Leicester substitute Kelechi Iheanacho continued his red hot form as he benefited from Wilfred Ndidi’s pressing to halve the deficit 14 minutes from time.

Ayoze Perez had a great chance late on to grab an equaliser, but he fired over.

That could be a season defining win for Chelsea, who now have their Champions League destiny in their own hands. A win here will cement their top four spot but anything else and they’ll be at the mercy of Liverpool and Leicester’s results.

Chelsea’s Antonio Rudiger has scored more Premier League goals against Leicester City than he has versus any other team (3), with each of his last three in the competition coming against the Foxes.

“It’s a big step, but it’s only a step,’ he said. ‘It’s not done yet, we have to push it over the line on Sunday.”

“It was a huge team effort, full of intensity, hunger and ambition. We played with a lot of quality for what was in my opinion a very deserved win.”

“But it’s not the time for celebrations, it’s not the time for praise, it’s not the time for thinking it’s more than three points. It’s actually only three points and there’s another three to get on Sunday and we have to be prepared and aware to finish the job.”

“This is a completely different match, football with and without spectators. You simply can’t compare. It was amazing and exactly what we want, everybody who comes to the stadium to be happy and feel this energy from this team because this is what this team can always deliver.”

TUCHEL TOLD HTTP://WWW.CHELSEAFC.COM THAT THAT WIN WAS A HUGE STEP IN THEIR BID FOR CHAMPIONS LEAGUE QUALIFICATION

Betting Tips

  • Total Goals – Over 2.5 Goals @ 7/10
  • Ollie Watkins to score first @ 15/2
  • Timo Werner to score first @ 4/1

Fulham vs Newcastle - 16:00 - Sunday 23rd May 2021 - Sky Sports

Fulham @ 23/10 Draw @ 27/10 Newcastle @ 11/5

Fulham: DLLLD

Newcastle: DLWLW

Fulham host Newcastle this weekend in their final Premier League match, with both sides looking to end the season in style.

Joe Bryan continued his excellent goal scoring run against Manchester United, with his second half header giving Fulham a 1-1 draw at Old Trafford in their penultimate game of the season. That draw was just their second point in the last fifteen available and moves them onto 28 points.

It was United’s first game in front of fans, with 10,000 at Old Trafford cheering Edinson Cavani on when he gave United the lead with a stunning strike on 15 minutes.

The Uruguayan spotted Alphonse Areola off his line and lobbed the Fulham goalkeeper with a first-time shot from range. The 40 yard effort was very similar to the one scored by Scott McTominay the last time fans were at a game, in the Manchester derby fourteen months prior.

Bruno Fernandes fired a free-kick narrowly wide, while at the other end David De Gea denied Ademola Lookman and Fabio Carvalho.

United were made to pay in the second half, when Fulham equalised on 76 minutes as Bobby De Cordova-Reid’s cross was headed in at the far post by Bryan.

That was a good point for Fulham, who will be delighted with the fight they have shown despite their relegation being confirmed.

“A little bit of both [regret and hope],” he admitted. “The performance tonight has been there this season, but we were on the right side of fine margins tonight.”

“What was different was Phonse making a few saves, one of their shots goes over the bar. On the flip side, we executed a lovely move to work a goal.”

“Nothing really changed as I told the team to come here and play like a top team and be ultra-brave. That was a risk but that’s how we put our stamp on it.”

“My main focus is between now and the end of the season. I want to look to Sunday and maintain a good performance and keep looking at how to improve the Club.”

SCOTT PARKER TOLD HTTP://WWW.FULHAMFC.COM HE FELT A TINGE OF REGRET FROM RESULTS THIS SEASON AND HOPE FOR NEXT SEASON AS HIS SIDE GAINED A POINT AT OLD TRAFFORD.

Fulham host Newcastle this weekend

Magpies Edge Blades

Newcastle continued their fine end to the season with a 1-0 win over rock bottom Sheffield United.

Steve Bruce’s men registered their eleventh win of the season as they moved up to 15th place and to within a point of Southampton with a 1-0 win over Sheffield United. Loanee Joe Willock made history with goals in six consecutive matches.

Newcastle started brightly in front of 10,000 returning home fans, with Aaron Ramsdale forced into a superb save to deny Jonjo Shelvey.

In first-half stoppage time, Willock became the youngest player to score in six consecutive Premier League matches when he headed in Jacob Murphy’s cross in the fourth minute of first half added time.

Sheff United pressed for an equaliser and it almost came on 76 minutes, but David McGoldrick’s effort struck the crossbar.

That was an excellent result for Newcastle who have now won four of their last seven Premier League games, as many as they had in their previous 23 games in the competition combined.

Newcastle’s Joe Willock has scored in each of his last six appearances in the Premier League, becoming the youngest player in the competition’s history to score in six consecutive outings.

Joe Willock became only the third Newcastle player to score in six consecutive Premier League appearances, following Papiss Cissé in April 2012 and Alan Shearer in November 1996.

“The supporters were terrific, especially at the start. When you think there were only 10,000 in, it’s amazing the difference. We could have put it to bed early – we missed some good chances – but some of our play was very decent. We have to keep making strides; we’ve got the makings of a half-decent team.”

“We have to respect that he’s Arsenal’s player. He’s only 21 but if we can we’d love to bring him here of course. He’s had a wonderful three months so let’s see if we can. We’ve given him a freedom and you can see a young lad enjoying his football. He’s been a great signing.”

“We don’t know if it’s a calf or a kick. We hope not [that it’s anything too serious]. It looked a bit innocuous; whether it’s a sprain or a kick, he’s not sure, so we’ll see how he is in the next 24 hours.”

“I’ve said from day one that people will enjoy watching him. He’s got ability that gets you off your seat. Some of the stuff he does off the cuff is not coachable. He’s still got a lot to do, the final bit, but his talent is there for everyone to see.”

STEVE BRUCE TOLD HTTP://WWW.SKYSPORTS.COM THAT HE WOULD LIKE TO MAKE THE JOE WILLOCK TRANSFER PERMANENT AFTER HIS RECORD BREAKING SCORING STREAK.

Betting Tips

  • BTTS – No @ 13/8
  • Josh Maja to score first @ 5/1
  • Joe Willock to score first @ 7/1

Leeds vs West Brom - 16:00 - Sunday 23rd May 2021 - BT Sport

Leeds @ 2/5 Draw @ 4/1 West Brom @ 6/1

Leeds: DLWWW

West Brom: DDLLL

Leeds host West Brom at Elland Road in the lunchtime kick off, with the teams at opposite ends of the form table.

Marcelo Bielsa’s men continued their excellent recent form with a 2-0 win over Southampton, with Leeds registering another precious clean sheet in the process. That win, their seventeenth of the season, see Leeds move to 56 points in their debut season back in the Premier League.

Southampton had the first chance of the match, with Kiko Casilla tipping a Che Adams header over the bar in the opening minutes and later palmed away another effort from the striker as Southampton started well in front of 8,000 home fans.

The visitors’ best chance of the first half fell to Stuart Dallas, who controlled the ball on his chest before shooting wide just inside the box.

Saints’ James Ward-Prowse clipped the bar with a free-kick soon after the break, while Alex McCarthy denied Dallas and Bamford in quick succession at the other end.

But Leeds eventually scored with 17 minutes left as Bamford beat McCarthy, latching on to Rodrigo’s pass and finishing between the goalkeeper’s legs for his 16th Premier League goal of the season.

Tyler Roberts then doubled Leeds advantage as he struck for the first time in the competition, reacting quickest when Bamford’s stoppage-time shot was saved and slotting into the bottom corner (90+5).

That was another excellent performance from Leeds, who are ending any doubts around burnout with a stunning end to the season.

Leeds have won 10+ away games in a single top-flight campaign for the first time since 1973-74, when they won 12 on the way to winning the title.

Leeds are also only the second promoted team to win 10 Premier League away games in a single season (10), and the first to do so since Nottingham Forest in 1994-95.

 “We’re happy to have won and the consequences in the table also.”

“The fact that we managed to score a goal facilitated things [improvement in the second half] a little bit, but whoever scored first in this game was in better condition to impose themselves.”

“It wasn’t my influence, it was the profile of the individualities of the second half which changed the game.”

“The team in the second half looked a lot more like the team that it is and just how we unlevelled the game in the second half, Southampton could have done the same in the first half.”

“Patrick had a very generous performance with a lot of effort and he’s had a season in which he’s shone. I’m sure he will be very positive about the campaign he’s had, be what may.”

“Everything he has achieved this season is because of the effort and dedication that he’s put in to show off all of his abilities.”

MARCELO BIELSA TOLD HTTP://WWW.SKYSPORTS.COM THAT THE WIN OVER SOUTHAMPTON WAS A GAME OF TWO HALVES AND THE FIRST GOAL WAS CRUCIAL.

Leeds United host West Brom

Baggies Beaten By Hammers

West Brom come into this match on the back of a 3-1 defeat at the hands of West Ham, with this game Sam Allardyce’s last for the club.

The Baggies suffered their nineteenth defeat of the season in midweek, when it was announced that Sam Allardyce will be leaving West Brom in their aftermath of their relegation. A win this weekend could ensure they don’t finish second bottom.

West Ham made a terrible start to the match as Declan Rice missed a penalty with the ball striking the woodwork.

Matheus Pereira gave West Brom a 27th-minute lead, scoring directly from a corner for his sixth goal in eight matches to add insult to West Ham’s injuries.

But Tomas Soucek made up for his involvement in West Brom’s opener as he equalised in first-half stoppage time, tapping in Said Benrahma’s low cross at the far post (45+1).

Aaron Cresswell then struck a post before setting up Ogbonna to put West Ham ahead in the 82nd minute, with his corner headed in by the centre back.

Michail Antonio made sure of the win when he added a third on the counter-attack with two minutes left, after being played in by United loanee Jesse Lingard.

That was another tough performance from West Brom, who have now conceded 39 goals at home in league competition this season, their worst defensive performance at home in a single league campaign.

“I thank all the West Brom fans for their support. The lads really responded to it tonight and I thought they were magnificent.”

“You could see that in their performance.”

“We had a dodgy start, but we got away with it. The response from that was based on the crowd getting behind the team.”

“We created some great chances and played some really good football. It was a completely different style to how they played against Liverpool and that shows how adaptable the players have become.”

“Today was a completely different set of tactics and they took to it brilliantly. It was such a shame to lose.”

SAM ALLADRYCE ADMITTED TO HTTP://WWW.WBA.CO.UK THAT LEAVING WAS THE TOUGHEST DECISION HE HAD TO MAKE AND PRAISED HIS PLAYERS AFTER THEIR 3-1 DEFEAT TO WEST HAM.

Betting Tips

  • Total Goals – Under 2.5 Goals @ 19/10
  • Patrick Bamford to score first @ 16/5
  • Matheus Pereira to score first @ 6/1

Leicester vs Tottenham - 16:00 - Sunday 23rd May 2021 - Sky Sports

Leicester @ 1/1 Draw @ 11/4 Tottenham @ 5/2

Leicester: WDLWL

Tottenham: WWLWL

Leicester host Tottenham at the King Power Stadium in the final game of the season, with both sides desperate to secure European football.

Brendan Rodgers’ side come into this clash on the back of a 2-1 defeat at the hands of Chelsea, one that knocked Leicester out of the top four for the first time this season. That defeat also puts Leicester’s chances of qualifying for the Champions League in serious jeopardy, with Leicester having to better Liverpool’s result.

Chelsea had the better of the first-half chances at Stamford Bridge, with Ben Chilwell firing across goal early on and Timo Werner having two goals disallowed, one for handball and another for offside. That was the 14th time this season that Werner’s goals were chalked off.

Rudiger eventually broke the deadlock two minutes after the break (47), tucking the ball home after Chilwell’s corner was deflected into his path.

The Blues were then awarded a penalty after a Video Assistant Referee review for a Wesley Fofana foul on Werner, which had originally been awarded as a free-kick. Jorginho sent Kasper Schmeichel the wrong way from 12 yards, cementing his spot as Chelsea’s top scorer for the season with seven goals, all from the penalty spot.

Leicester substitute Kelechi Iheanacho continued his red hot form as he benefited from Wilfred Ndidi’s pressing to halve the deficit 14 minutes from time.

Ayoze Perez had a great chance late on to grab an equaliser, but he fired over.

That is a huge defeat in the context of Leicester’s season and for their bid for Champions League football. Leicester have won just two of their last 30 away league games against Chelsea.

One positive for Leicester was another goal for Kelechi Iheanacho, who is the first player in Premier League history to score a goal on all seven weekdays within a single season.

“We gave away two soft goals. Two of our young players, who have been absolutely brilliant, they will learn. We gave away a needless corner and then we didn’t defend that well enough.”

“It was too easy. We needed to be stronger in that moment, not concede it in the first place and the second one’s a very, very, very, very soft penalty.”

“I think it was barely a touch, if it was a touch. That put us back in the game, but we showed great fight with the reaction and maybe could have nicked something at the end.”

“We had to deal with that pressure at the beginning of the game, but I thought the players did that. We weathered the storm and had a bit of luck along the way. We couldn’t quite find the pass, we were too slow in our passing. We needed to play forward more.”

BRENDAN RODGERS TOLD HTTP://WWW.LCFC.COM THAT LAPSES OF CONCENTRATION COST LEICESTER IN THEIR 2-1 DEFEAT AT THE HANDS OF CHELSEA.

The Foxes face Tottenham in their final game this weekend

Villa Edge Spurs

Tottenham come into this game on the back of a 2-1 home defeat at the hands of Aston Villa, their first defeat under Interim Manager Ryan Mason.

That was a result that summed up a frustrating season for Tottenham, with Ryan Mason’s side now needing a win to have a chance of securing Europa League football, should they lose North London rivals Arsenal could finish above them should they beat Brighton.

Spurs took the lead in the 8th minute through Steven Bergwijn’s superb strike, with the Dutchman’s effort nearly bursting through the roof of the Villa net.

The hosts then gifted Villa an equaliser when Sergio Reguilon completed a magnificent own goal to score the 1,000th own goal in Premier League history.

Ollie Watkins completed the turnaround six minutes before half-time, capitalising on another mistake from the Spanish left back to complete a close-range finish for his 14th goal of the campaign.

Anwar El Ghazi and Watkins then missed further golden chances for Villa to extend their lead before the break.

Spurs rallied in the second half, but Bergwijn and Harry Kane were both denied by Emiliano Martinez as they fell to a first home defeat under interim head coach Ryan Mason.

That was a frustrating defeat and performance from Spurs who suffered their first home Premier League defeat under Ryan Mason and their sixth overall this season, their most in a league season since also losing six in 2014-15.

Spurs have lost their final home Premier League match of the season for the first time since 2015-16, when they lost 2-1 to Southampton at White Hart Lane.

“We started brightly, scored a very good goal, felt in full control of the match, no issues, but an unfortunate situation has given them a goal and that changes the momentum, changes the feeling.”

“To then have another unfortunate situation and give them another goal is tough to take. We gave a solid team two goals and in a Premier League match, you cannot do that. It’s hard to create chances, both teams only had four efforts on target, and we’ve given them two goals. It’s disappointing how the game panned out.”

“When you give a team a goal when they haven’t really created anything, it changes the feeling. At the start of the second half, we had one or two really big moments, unfortunately we didn’t make them count and it becomes very difficult.”

“When you have those moments, you have to take them. So, very disappointed with the result, we didn’t give the fans the three points we hoped for and it’s a massive disappointment.”

RYAN MASON COULDN’T HIDE HIS DISAPPOINTMENT ABOUT HIS SIDES 2-1 DEFEAT WHEN HE SPOKE TO HTTP://WWW.TOTTENHAMHOTSPUR.COM

Betting Tips

  • Total Goals – Over 2.5 Goals @ 3/5
  • Kelechi Iheanacho to score first @ 10/3
  • Harry Kane to score first @ 9/2

Liverpool vs Crystal Palace - 16:00 - Sunday 23rd May 2021 - Sky Sports

Liverpool @ 1/6 Draw @ 13/2 Crystal Palace @ 6/1

Liverpool: DWWWW

Crystal Palace: LWLWL

Liverpool host Crystal Palace this weekend in a fixture that will make or break their season.

This game will be a cup final for Liverpool with a defeat meaning they are likely to be competing in the Europa League next season instead of the Champions League. A win would guarantee their place in Europe’s elite club competition after a miserable season.

Jurgen Klopp’s side enjoyed the better of the first half, with Sadio Mane, Thiago and Mohamed Salah all going close, while Chris Wood fired Burnley’s best chance agonisingly wide.

But Liverpool took the lead on the stroke of half time, with Firmino slotting in from Andrew Robertson’s cross, with Burnley debutant Will Norris partially to blame.

The Reds doubled their lead seven minutes into the second half (52), after Sadio Mane’s cross was headed in by Phillips for his first Premier League goal.

Burnley threatened to find a way back into the contest, but Liverpool confirmed all three points thanks to substitute Oxlade-Chamberlain’s left-footed drive two minutes from time.

That was an excellent performance and win from Liverpool, who have won their last four Premier League games – their longest run of the season, and the Reds’ best winning streak in the top-flight in the same campaign since their 18-match run that ended in February last year.

Liverpool will also end the day in the Premier League top four for the first time since mid-February, at the expense of Leicester, who find themselves outside the UEFA Champions League qualification places for the first time since early December.

“I couldn’t be more pleased, to be honest. I never expected that. It’s not that I take this for granted, I knew this season is for us an incredibly tough, tough season. I heard now that on Valentine’s Day, February 14, was the last time we were in the top four because we didn’t win a lot of games since then.”

“But now in the last eight, 10, I don’t know exactly how many games, we are back on track and if we win on Sunday then probably – it depends on the result of Leicester or Chelsea – then we are probably qualified for the Champions League.”

“It’s insane that we came that close, but we are not through. When you win the semi-final you go to the final. That’s where we are and we will give our absolute everything to win that as well.”

JURGEN KLOPP REFLECTED ON A VERY GOOD WIN WHEN HE SPOKE TO HTTP://WWW.LIVERPOOLFC.COM AFTER THEIR 3-0 WIN OVER BURNLEY

Liverpool host Crystal Palace at Anfield this weekend

Arsenal Deny Palace At The Death

Crystal Palace come into this match on the back of a 3-1 defeat at the hands of Arsenal in Roy Hodgson’s final game as manager.

The former England manager was given a guard of honour and a standing ovation in his final game in charge of his boyhood club. Hodgson will have been disappointed to concede two late goals and surrender all three points in his final game as manager.

Hosts Palace had the better of the early exchanges in Roy Hodgson’s final home match in charge, with Gary Cahill, Christian Benteke and Jeffrey Schlupp all going close. Schlupp could count himself lucky after his challenge in the fifth minute only produced a yellow when it could easily have been red.

It was Arsenal who took the lead in the 35th minute through Pepe, who volleyed in superbly from Kieran Tierney’s cross.

Palace equalised just after the hour mark through Christian Benteke, the in form Belgian heading in from Andros Townsend’s free-kick for his fourth goal in as many matches.

Both sides pushed for a winner late on but it was Arsenal through Martinelli who went ahead, with the youngster bundling in Martin Odegaard’s cross in the 92nd minute.

Pepe started and ended the scoring in the 96th minute, with his strike sealing the win with a fine run and finish for his second goal of the match.

That was a tough defeat for Crystal Palace to take, that defeat means they have lost their final home game in a Premier League season for the very first time.

“Will it feel the same as maybe it would have done when I’m soon preparing for next season? No. There will be further emotion – more so that we’re playing at Anfield, which is a pretty emotional stadium.”

“We’ve talked about it before, for me the stability of the club is a very important thing. I believe the club will push on and will get better, stronger.”

“Being in the Premier League itself is a vital component for teams like ours. I’d prefer my departure to be met with the idea that there is a stable base, there is a good group of players here,  the club’s in very good condition financially, playing wise.”

“There are opportunities to get a stronger squad together, but let’s not put the new manager in a different light, having kept the club in the league in around the middle of the league. Personally I prefer expectations to remain at a realistic level.”

ROY HODGSON REVEALED TO HTTP://WWW.CPFC.CO.UK THE OUTPOOR OF SUPPORT HE HAD BEFORE HIS FINAL GAME AND THE STEPS THE CLUB NEED TO TAKE TO MOVE FORWARD

Betting Tips

  • Total Goals – Under 2.5 Goals @ 4/11
  • Mohamed Salah to score first @ 15/8
  • Wilfried Zaha to score first @ 10/1

Man City vs Everton - 16:00 - Sunday 23rd May 2021 - Sky Sports

Man City @ 9/20 Draw @ 18/5 Everton @ 6/1

Man City: WWLWL

Everton: LWDLW

Man City host Everton at the Etihad this weekend after suffering a shock 3-2 defeat at the hands of Brighton.

That was City’s first ever loss to Brighton in the Premier League and one that Guardiola was clearly frustrated to lose. The red card to Cancelo in the 10th minute didn’t help but City will be disappointed to have thrown away a 2-0 lead in a Premier League game for only the second time under Pep.

The champions City had the perfect start as they went ahead after just two minutes at Amex Stadium, with Ilkay Gundogan arriving at the back post to head in from Riyad Mahrez’s cross.

But Man City were reduced to 10 men in the 10th minute when Joao Cancelo was shown a straight red card for the denial of a goal-scoring opportunity, bringing down Danny Welbeck as the forward sought to run through on goal.

Despite the man disadvantage Phil Foden doubled City’s lead early in the second half, picking the ball up inside his own half and shrugging off several challenges before firing low across Robert Sanchez in the 48th minute.

Brighton halved the deficit two minutes later through Leandro Trossard’s powerful strike, and Adam Webster levelled the score when he headed past Ederson in the 72nd minute.

The winner came with 14 minutes left as Dan Burn had a shot saved but reacted quickest on the follow up to score his first Brighton goal.

That was a tough defeat for Manchester City, who have now conceded six goals in their last two away Premier League games, as many as they had in their previous 14 on the road in the competition.

Their possession figure in this match was just 37% – the lowest recorded by a side managed by Pep Guardiola in a single top-flight match.

“We’re the champions. In four or five days we are going to lift the trophy and then prepare for the (Champions League) final.”

“I am concerned because it’s a Champions League final and the opponent is so tough but I saw incredible things today on the pitch with 11 against 10.”

“(Brighton) push man to man, with high pressing and after they defend deep, the set pieces are good, lots of quality in the middle, it’s always difficult.”

“That’s why I am so proud of the team, it means how difficult is the Premier League again and we will prepare as best as possible for the final of the Champions League.”

PEP GUARDIOLA TOLD HTTP://WWW.MANCITY.COM THAT HE WASN’T WORRIED BY CITY’S 3-2 DEFEAT AND WAS LOOKING FORWARD TO LIFTING THE PREMIER LEAGUE TROPHY.

City host Everton in the final game of the season

Toffees Edge Wolves

Everton made full use of the fans return as they ended their rotten run at home with a narrow 1-0 win over Wolves.

Irrespective of that win this is already guaranteed to be Everton’s worst home season in league football, but Richarlison’s header ensured that the Toffees still have a faint hope of European football with a win over Champions Manchester City.

It was an even opening 45 minutes at Goodison Park, but Wolves came closest to scoring through Adama Traore’s shot but it was tipped over by Jordan Pickford.

Everton took the lead three minutes into the second half with the only goal of the game, with forward Richarlison rising highest to head in Gylfi Sigurdsson’s corner (48).

Everton pressed for a second through Dominic Calvert-Lewin and Gylfi Sigurdsson’s deflected effort, with John Ruddy making a rare appearance in goal for Wolves.

But the Toffees held on to complete their first league double over Wolves since the 1975-76 campaign when managed by Billy Bingham.

Everton’s win was only their sixth at home in the Premier League this season. Despite victory, their 22 points at home in 2020-21 is their lowest in any league campaign in their history when converting to three-points-per-win all-time.

Everton have scored 14 headed goals in the Premier League this season, the most of any side.

“It was much better, a better attitude and we wanted to win. We suffered, it was an open game, but important for us to stay in the battle.”

“With the supporters in the stadiums, we have three victories in three games.”

“They make a huge difference to the atmosphere and to the motivation for the players.”

“I hope the new signing in the transfer market will be the supporters in the stadium. They will make a huge difference next season.”

“In the history of the Club our supporters make the difference… it was nice to see them and a totally different atmosphere.”

CARLO ANCELOTTI TOLD HTTP://WWW.EVERTONFC.COM THAT HE EXPECTS A TRANSFORMED EVERTON AT HOME NEXT SEASON AFTER THE FANS RETURN PUSHED THEM ONTO A 1-0 WIN OVER WOLVES.

Betting Tips

  • BTTS @ 8/11
  • Sergio Aguero to score first @ 7/2
  • Dominic Calvert Lewin to score first @ 5/1

Sheffield United vs Burnley - 16:00 - Sunday 23rd May 2021 - BT Sport

Sheffield United @ 15/8 Draw @ 5/2 Burnley @ 7/5

Sheffield United: WLLWL

Burnley: WLWLL

Sheffield United host Burnley at Bramall Lane this weekend, with the Blades playing their final game in the Premier League after their relegation.

The Blades come into this match on the back of a narrow 1-0 defeat at the hands of Newcastle United, with a solitary Joe Willock goal enough to settle the tie. That defeat confirmed that Sheffield United will remain rock bottom of the Premier League this season.

Newcastle started brightly in front of 10,000 returning home fans, with Aaron Ramsdale forced into a superb save to deny Jonjo Shelvey.

In first-half stoppage time, Willock became the youngest player to score in six consecutive Premier League matches when he headed in Jacob Murphy’s cross in the fourth minute of first half added time.

Sheffield United pressed for an equaliser and it almost came on 76 minutes, but David McGoldrick’s effort struck the crossbar.

The Blades suffered their 29th Premier League defeat of the season – a joint-record in a single campaign in the competition, along with Derby County in 2007-08, Sunderland in 2005-06 and Ipswich Town in 1994-95.

Sheffield United were beaten for the 16th time away from home in the league this term, with only Burnley in 2009-10 suffering more away defeats in a single Premier League campaign.

“We started well and frustrated Newcastle but missed two or three really good opportunities and then had a sloppy period where they scored. It was the story of the season.”

“I can’t fault the spirit and determination but we didn’t cause them enough problems; we had a lot of the ball and territory.”

“The young players are getting a chance because they’re good enough and the squad will come back stronger next season. It was a different atmosphere with fans; I’m really looking forward to them coming in on Sunday.”

SHEFFIELD UNITED’S CARETAKER BOSS PAUL HECKINGBOTTOM WAS FRUSTRATED WITH HIS SIDES PERFORMANCE WHEN HE SPOKE TO HTTP://WWW.SKYSPORTS.COM

The Blades host Burnley in their final Premier League fixture

Clarets Soundly Beaten

Burnley come into this game on the back of a comprehensive 3-0 defeat at the hands of Champions League chasing Liverpool.

It was the Clarets 18th defeat of the season and one that extends their poor run of form at home, even the return of fans weren’t enough to cheer Burnley on for a win. That defeat leaves Burnley in 17th place and on 39 points, a win here would see them end the season on a respectable 42 points.

Jurgen Klopp’s side enjoyed the better of the first half, with Sadio Mane, Thiago and Mohamed Salah all going close, while Chris Wood fired Burnley’s best chance agonisingly wide.

But Liverpool took the lead on the stroke of half time, with Firmino slotting in from Andrew Robertson’s cross, with Burnley debutant Will Norris partially to blame.

The Reds doubled their lead seven minutes into the second half (52), after Sadio Mane’s cross was headed in by Phillips for his first Premier League goal.

Burnley threatened to find a way back into the contest, but Liverpool confirmed all three points thanks to substitute Oxlade-Chamberlain’s left-footed drive two minutes from time.

That was another tough afternoon for Burnley, who are now without a win in their last 10 Premier League games at Turf Moor, their longest winless run on home soil in the league since between March and September 1984.

“We had big moments and if you don’t take them against sides like this, you’ll come undone.”

“Liverpool are back purring. They are not having an indifferent period, like they were when we beat them at their place.”

“We knocked them about a bit at their place with a big result and that led to other teams going to Anfield and getting results.”

“Now they are back purring and finding clinical moments. They had three shots on target and scored all three. That shows you a sign of being clinical.”

“I’m fed up of saying it, but that’s been the story of our season; particularly early on, when we were finding chances and not taking them, and it’s been my biggest frustration, probably over the last 10 games, because we have been playing pretty well.”

SEAN DYCHE TOLD HTTP://WWW.BURNLEYFOOTBALLCLUB.COM THAT HIS SIDE WEREN’T CLINICAL ENOUGH IN THEIR 3-0 DEFEAT TO LIVERPOOL.

Betting Tips

  • Total Goals – Under 2.5 Goals @ 23/20
  • David McGoldrick to score first @ 4/1
  • Chris Wood to score first @ 14/5

West Ham vs Southampton - 16:00 - Sunday 23rd May 2021 - Sky Sports

West Ham @ 4/6 Draw @ 31/10 Southampton @ 4/1

West Ham: LWLDW

Southampton: DLWWL

West Ham host Southampton in their final game of the season with the Hammers still chasing a Europa League spot.

David Moyes’ side come into this match on the back of a 3-1 win over former manager Sam Allardyce’s West Brom side. That comeback win ensures that the Hammers come into this match in the driving seat for Europa League football, with a three point lead over London rivals Tottenham.

West Ham made a terrible start to the match as Declan Rice missed a penalty with the ball striking the woodwork.

Matheus Pereira gave West Brom a 27th-minute lead, scoring directly from a corner for his sixth goal in eight matches to add insult to West Ham’s injuries.

But Tomas Soucek made up for his involvement in West Brom’s opener as he equalised in first-half stoppage time, tapping in Said Benrahma’s low cross at the far post (45+1).

Aaron Cresswell then struck a post before setting up Ogbonna to put West Ham ahead in the 82nd minute, with his corner headed in by the centre back.

I’ve got to say it’s been really tough and we’re all feeling the games and the kick-off times and the amount of games and we’re all really looking forward to a break, but the players have been brilliant and they’ve done their job.

“It wasn’t as well as we’ve played and it was a different type of game but we needed to get the win and we did that tonight.”

“I didn’t think we had played that well in the first half at all and I think we made one or two opportunities, but I was more concerned that we looked fragile defensively and couldn’t cope with the physicality.”

“We had a word about it half-time and I thought we were much better in the second half and we defended the box great and were stronger with most of the corner kicks that came in.”

“So, from that point of view, it gave us a base to go and win it when we got the opportunities.”

DAVID MOYES TOLD HTTP://WWW.WHUFC.COM THAT HE WAS PROUD AND HAPPY WITH WEST HAM’S VITAL VICTORY OVER WEST BROM.

West Ham host Southampton this weekend.

Leeds Edge Saints

Southampton come into this game on the back of a 2-0 defeat at the hands of Marcelo Bielsa’s Leeds.

Goals from Patrick Bamford and Tyler Roberts were enough to condemn the Saints to their 18th defeat of the season. That defeat leaves Ralph Hasenhuttl’s side in 14th place on 43 points, with only pride to play for in their final game.

Southampton had the first chance of the match, with Kiko Casilla tipping a Che Adams header over the bar in the opening minutes and later palmed away another effort from the striker as Southampton started well in front of 8,000 home fans.

The visitors’ best chance of the first half fell to Stuart Dallas, who controlled the ball on his chest before shooting wide just inside the box.

Saints’ James Ward-Prowse clipped the bar with a free-kick soon after the break, while Alex McCarthy denied Dallas and Bamford in quick succession at the other end.

But Leeds eventually scored with 17 minutes left as Bamford beat McCarthy, latching on to Rodrigo’s pass and finishing between the goalkeeper’s legs for his 16th Premier League goal of the season.

Tyler Roberts then doubled Leeds advantage as he struck for the first time in the competition, reacting quickest when Bamford’s stoppage-time shot was saved and slotting into the bottom corner (90+5).

That was another disappointing home performance from the Saints, who have a mixed record of two wins, two defeats and a draw in their last five matches.

Southampton are without a clean sheet in their last 10 home league games (15 goals conceded) after keeping shut-outs in six of the eight before that.

“I think we had a very good first half. We used a lot of energy to create chances but you must take advantage by going in the lead, which would help you a little bit more.”

“In the second half, they had a better start and the game was neutralised until they scored the first goal. Then it seemed that they had another gear that we didn’t have.”

“We still had moments we could score, a few good creative moments until the final third, but in and around the box the last decision and the last creative pass was not there against a good defending team, so this was the reason why we didn’t score for the first time in three games.”

“Finally, it’s a pity, but we tried. We were a little bit closer than in the first game, but we couldn’t do it.”

RALPH HASENHUTTL TOLD HTTP://WWW.SOUTHAMPTONFC.COM THAT LEEDS FOUND AN EXTRA GEAR THAT HIS SIDE DID NOT HAVE.

Betting Tips

  • BTTS @ 11/20
  • Jesse Lingard to score first @ 4/1
  • Danny Ings to score first @ 5/1

Wolves vs Man United - 16:00 - Sunday 23rd May 2021 - BT Sport

Wolves @ 31/20 Draw @ 5/2 Man United @ 17/10

Wolves: LDWLL

Man United: DWLLD

Wolves host Man United in their final game of the season, the game will be manager Nuno Espirito Santo’s last after confirming his departure.

Nuno Espirito Santo will depart after four seasons at Molineux after this final fixture after a mutual agreement with the Wolves board. They come into this game on the back of successive defeats, their last a 1-0 loss against Everton.

It was an even opening 45 minutes at Goodison Park, but Wolves came closest to scoring through Adama Traore’s shot but it was tipped over by Jordan Pickford.

Everton took the lead three minutes into the second half with the only goal of the game, with forward Richarlison rising highest to head in Gylfi Sigurdsson’s corner (48).

Everton pressed for a second through Dominic Calvert-Lewin and Gylfi Sigurdsson’s deflected effort, with John Ruddy making a rare appearance in goal for Wolves.

But the Toffees held on to complete their first league double over Wolves since the 1975-76 campaign when managed by Billy Bingham.

That result was another poor one for Wolves, who have failed to score in the first half of 28 Premier League matches this season, the joint-most of any side along with Sheffield United.

Wolves have lost their final away league game of the season in each of the last five campaigns.

“It was a very good first-half. All the game was good, but the first-half was very good. We played very good football, we were dominant, we controlled very well, we pressed very well, we recovered the ball very well, we had good movements, good aggression, really good football, but we didn’t put the ball in the goal.”

“We had chances, Pickford did good saves, but the first-half was very good. The goal changed the game. The set-piece, a corner, everything changes from that, but it was a good reaction from the boys, we finished the game on the front foot.”

“We did a lot of good things, but it’s too bad that the concentration and the focus on the set-piece changed the game, but this is football.”

“I’m angry as a manager when players don’t perform well, but today I’m not upset at all. I understand that it’s a set-piece that will need reviewing, but it’s about individual competencies in that moment.

NUNO TOLD HTTP://WWW.WOLVES.CO.UK THAT HE WAS PROUD OF HIS PLAYERS DISPLAY DESPITE FALLING TO DEFEAT.

Wolves host Man United in Nuno’s final fixture as Wolves manager

United Disappoint Again

Man United continued their poor run of form and end to the season with a 1-1 draw at home to Fulham.

That result means United extend their run to three home games without a win, losing to both Leicester and Liverpool and drawing against Fulham, rounding off another campaign under Ole with miserable domestic form. A win here would see them end the season on 74 points.

It was United’s first game in front of fans, with 10,000 at Old Trafford cheering Edinson Cavani on when he gave United the lead with a stunning strike on 15 minutes.

The Uruguayan spotted Alphonse Areola off his line and lobbed the Fulham goalkeeper with a first-time shot from range. The 40 yard effort was very similar to the one scored by Scott McTominay the last time fans were at a game, in the Manchester derby fourteen months prior.

Bruno Fernandes fired a free-kick narrowly wide, while at the other end David De Gea denied Ademola Lookman and Fabio Carvalho.

United were made to pay in the second half, when Fulham equalised on 76 minutes as Bobby De Cordova-Reid’s cross was headed in at the far post by Bryan.

That was another miserable home performance from United, who have now conceded 28 home goals in the Premier League this season – the most they have conceded in a league campaign in 58 years.

Edinson Cavani became only the third Man Utd player to reach 10+ goals in a single Premier League season while aged 33 or over at the start of that campaign.

“Fantastic. Walking in here with the buzz, the energy, hearing the chants. I know the players really appreciate it. They maybe overdid the play at times. I thought we were too loose, too fancy, wanting to do flicks and backheels.”

“How good was Cavani’s goal? Oh, top. That was the highlight obviously. What a way to introduce himself to the Stretford End. I know I’ve said it a long time, but we need fans here and they’re going to see him score many goals for us. That was an excellent finish, and the way he works to get his chances as well is exceptional.”

“Yeah, we played well, we created chances, but we couldn’t take them. But then, if you don’t take them, anything can bite you in the Premier League. Good players, good teams. It was a good cross and a good header. We should have dealt with it better though.”

OLE TOLD HTTP://WWW.MANUTD.COM THAT HE HAD CONFLICTING EMOTIONS AFTER WELCOMING BACK FANS FOR THE FIRST TIME IN 14 MONTHS.

Betting Tips

  • BTTS @ 1/2
  • Willian Jose to score first @ 9/2
  • Bruno Fernandes to score first @ 9/2