Tips: 22nd May 2022

Each week we will update this page with the latest football bets, tips and match previews from all Premier league games! As you are now a member of the Free BetInfo24 Football service we will drop you an email to let you know that the latest tips are available. 


Treble:

Arsenal

Chelsea

Leicester / Southampton

Pays 23/5

Bet £5 Get £30 Free With BetVictor


 

Goals Acca:

Brentford vs Leeds UNDER 2.5 | Liverpool vs Wolves OVER 2.5

Brighton vs West Ham BTTS |  Chelsea vs Watford BTTS - No

Pays 31/4

Bet £5 Get £30 Free With BetVictor


Buy Shares In Our £800k Football Pool To Massively Increase Your Chances Of WINNING The Jackpot - Closes 11pm Friday

CLICK HERE


Premier League Betting Previews: 22nd May 2022

Arsenal vs Everton - 16:00 - Sunday 22nd May 2022

 

Arsenal @ 1/2      Draw @ 16/5      Everton @ 5/1

Arsenal: WWWLL

Everton: WWDLW

 

Arsenal host Everton this weekend at the Emirates, with Mikel Arteta left knowing that even a win might not be enough to secure Champions League football.

The Gunners were soundly beaten in the Monday Night Football at Newcastle, and they know that even if they overcome an Everton side still battling relegation that it may not be enough to secure a top four finish, with Tottenham facing Norwich. The Magpies had the best chance of the first half, as Allan Saint Maximin cut in on his favoured right foot and fired a low arrowed shot at goal, but Aaron Ramsdale was equal to it. Newcastle did take the lead in the 55th minute when Joelinton broke down the left hand side and delivered a cross that forced an own goal from Ben White. Wilson produced an excellent performance on his first start following a long injury lay off, with the skipper instrumental in the goal and in giving the Gunners defence a torrid night. Jacob Murphy missed a fantastic chance to give the Magpies a deserved 2-0 lead but he couldn’t capitalise on Newcastle’s counter attack after a mistake from Pepe, with the substitute firing straight at Ramsdale. Newcastle eventually did double their lead, with Bruno Guimaraes following up when Wilson was denied by Ramdale with five minutes remaining (85). "No. We deserved to lose and we probably deserved to lose by a bigger margin with the way that we have performed and the way that we have competed in this match. Right from the beginning they were on top of everything and we didn’t manage to get out of our own half, we put ourselves in trouble, we lost every duel, every second ball. We didn’t compete in the game in the way that game required to do so, and we never earned the right to get anything out of the game. That we went through the storm of the game that we didn’t want to play, and we discussed before the match the game that we had to avoid and exactly the game that we were playing. We tried to change it and we started slightly better, but then obviously the first goal and the way we conceded the first goal hit us and we tried to change, we put our attacking players on and we changed formation, but we were so sloppy in everything that we did today. It’s a really difficult night. We fought a lot, we went through a lot and we have generated an expectation that probably no one would talk about at the start of the season with the squad that we have. But we have managed to get through here basically with respecting certain principles and always competing in football matches, and tonight we haven’t done that." Mikel Arteta was visibly crestfallen but offered no excuses when speaking to www.arsenal.com after seeing his side fall to a potentially decisive defeat against Newcastle.

Everton Survive

Everton come into this game with the pressure completely off as their win against Crystal Palace ensured their safety.

Frank Lampard's men came from 2-0 down to secure their Premier League status, with goals from Mateta and Jordan Ayew cancelled out by Keane, Richarlison and Dominic Calvert Lewin as the Toffees secured Premier League survival with a game remaining. Everton made a great start as Richarlison’s free kick in the 16th minute clipped the bar. Palace did take the lead in the 21st minute, as Jean Phillippe Mateta headed the Eagles in front, converting from an Eberchi Eze cross to make it 1-0 to Vieiria’s side. Jordan Ayew could and possibly should have been sent off for a poor challenge on Anthony Gordon, but instead he received a yellow which allowed him to remain on the pitch to bundle home Palace’s second of the night in the 36th minute. Everton pulled one back nine minutes after the restart (54) from an unlikely source, with Michael Keane’s cool finish with the outside of his boot enough to beat Jack Butland in the Palace goal. Richarlison hauled the hosts level with 15 minutes remaining, his deflected shot off Conor Gallagher looping over the hand of Butland and into the Palace goal to make it 2-2. And Everton sealed the comeback win five minutes from time (85), as Dominic Calvert Lewin’s header from a Demarai Gray free kick was enough to win the game. "What we've just seen, it's Premier League safety, it's not Champions League. But what it means to the Club and in those circumstances [is huge]. The character of this club, the fans and the players, just got us through. The spirit of the Club was immense. There are a lot of people who work so hard for that; the players, the board, the fans, my staff. It's a huge night for Everton and now we want to take that forward. Relegation battles are tough and an experience in their own right. The support I've had from the Owner [Farhad Moshiri], Chairman [Bill Kenwright], Denise [Barrett-Baxendale, Chief Executive], and what the fans have brought in. is hard to create. Everyone can see the heart and the soul of the team, that's why we stayed up. The support was so important. We needed them tonight, at 2-0 it was easy to expect the worst. But they've been doing it for a long time, since the Chelsea game [1-0 win on 1 May]. Again, the atmosphere was another level. They [supporters] want success and when they see a team giving it, they react instantly. Those moments were priceless." Frank Lampard told Everton TV that the “immense spirit of the Club... and heart and soul in the team” inspired “a special night in Everton’s history” after victory over Crystal Palace confirmed a 69th straight season of top-flight football.

Betting Tips

  • BTTS @ 13/20
  • Eddie Nketiah to score first @ 7/2
  • Richarlison to score first @ 13/2

Brentford vs Leeds - 16:00 - Sunday 22nd May 2022

 

Brentford @ 5/4       Draw @ 13/5       Leeds @ 19/10

Brentford: WDLWW

Leeds: DLLLD

 

Brentford host Leeds this weekend with the outcome of Leeds' Premier League survival hinging on this result.

Thomas Frank's side have already played their part in the relegation battle, as they overcame Everton 3-2 at Goodison Park, with a Seamus Coleman own goal, Yoane Wissa and Rico Henry overcoming goals from Richarlison and Dominic Calvert Lewin. The two red cards for the Toffees were instrumental as well. Dominic Calvert Lewin registered his first Premier League since August as he was adjudged to have got a final, slight touch on Richarlison’s goalbound effort in the 10th minute to give Everton a vital lead. But it all came crashing down for Everton as Jarrad Branthwaite was given a straight red card for bringing Ivan Toney down, with the defender the last man and the Toffees were down to ten men in just the 18th minute. The Bees drew level courtesy of an own goal from Seamus Coleman in the 37th minute, the club captain heading the ball into his own net from a Yoane Wissa cross, that goal adding insult to injury for Everton. Frank Lampard’s retook the lead on the stroke of half time from the penalty spot, with Richarlison stepping up in the second minute of time added on after he was clattered in the box by Mads Bech Sorensen (45+2). But the Toffees were undone by two goals in two second half minutes, with Yoane Wissa heading Brentford level in the 62nd minute, before Rico Henry lost his marker at Everton’s back post and was granted a free header in the 64th minute to make it 3-2. Everton finished the game with nine men, when substitute Salomon Rondon was given a straight red for an appalling challenge on Rico Henry. The game ended 3-2 to Brentford and 11-9 men in the Bees favour. "I was delighted because Goodison Park is a very difficult place to play. The Everton fans were remarkable and I think it was potentially one of the best atmospheres I’ve experienced for the first 25 minutes… until the dynamic changed in the game. We struggled until their first goal because we handled the long balls badly. We didn’t attack them well enough, didn’t drop early enough and didn’t win the duels. That actually continued a bit throughout the half and played a part in the 2-1 goal, so that's a tactical bit we need to do much better.” We came back into the game after the 1-1 goal. The red card helped us in a way but I think it's important to mention that a lot of teams this season haven't won when they’ve been behind and then played 11 against 10, so credit to the players for staying patient. We not only came back once but twice and turned it around against a team that’s fighting and giving everything. That’s an incredible performance and says a lot about my players’ character. We showed immense character and desire despite a lot of so-called experts saying that we were going on holiday and didn't have anything to fight for. They have to want to win every single game for Brentford fans and for themselves, but it’s also very important to show respect to the Premier League that we’ll do everything we can because if I was in the situation Burnley, Everton or Leeds are in I’d definitely expect that from them." Thomas Frank gave his thoughts on the comeback win against Everton to the Press Association and the written media.

Leeds Rescue Point

Leeds United rescued a point at home against Brighton in their last game, a point that could prove crucial come Sunday evening.

It's all or nothing for Leeds United in their final game of the season, Jesse Marsch's side know that even a win might not be enough to prevent them from going down with the Whites needing to win and better Burnley's result. They come into the match on the back of a 1-1 draw against Brighton, with Danny Welbeck's 21st minute goal cancelled out by a brilliant header by Pascal Struijk with five minutes remaining. Moises Caicedo had the Seagulls first chance of the game, with his scrambled effort at the second attempt falling safely into Meslier’s hands after great work from Alexis Mac Allister. Danny Welbeck opened the scoring for the Seagulls, with the former Arsenal and Manchester United man sublimely dinking over Ilan Meslier after poor defending from Diego Llorente (21). Matuesz Klich was denied by a brilliant save from Robert Sanchez, with the Spaniard colliding with his post in the process. Leeds went close in the second half to levelling the scoring, with Raphinha’s free kick crashing against the woodwork. Jack Harrison, Mateusz Klich and Joe Gelhardt all had chances on goal but Raphinha’s miss nearly had Elland Road in raptures but his effort went agonisingly wide. But the hosts did find their goal in the second minute of time added on, as Pascal Struijk met Joe Gelhardt’s cross at the far post to head in for a priceless point (90+2). "I’ve said since I’ve been here the mentality of our team to fight, stick together and go for things, especially with our backs against the wall, is at a very high level, so that rewarded us today. It’s typical that we get a big chance at the start with Joffy (Joe Gelhardt) and it hits our captain in our face, it would’ve been one-nil and the game looks very different. After that to be fair to Brighton, they managed certain moments with the ball and were able to unbalance us, we weren’t effective enough against the ball and we looked nervy on the ball at times and didn’t get ourselves into the game. We became more compact and in the second half we pushed hard though and we were a little bit unlucky not to come away with more. Everybody in the entire community here wants us to find a way to do this and we’re trying to do everything we can to fight for the points. We’ve got to now invest everything we have going into Brentford next week and be ready for a big match." Leeds United head coach Jesse Marsch spoke to LUTV following Sunday’s draw with Brighton & Hove Albion.

Betting Tips

  • Total Goals - Over 2.5 Goals @ 3/5
  • Ivan Toney to score first @ 7/2
  • Raphinha to score first @ 5/1

Brighton vs West Ham - 16:00 - Sunday 22nd May 2022

 

Brighton @ 6/4      Draw @ 23/10      West Ham @ 17/10

Brighton: LDWWD

West Ham: DLLWD

 

Brighton host West Ham at the Amex in the final day of the season, with both sides looking to end their campaigns with a win.

Graham Potter's side have had an excellent season and they'll be looking to secure a top ten finish to showcase their progression. Their previous match saw them concede a last-minute equaliser from Pascal Struijk as they left Elland Road with a point. Moises Caicedo had the Seagulls first chance of the game, with his scrambled effort at the second attempt falling safely into Meslier’s hands after great work from Alexis Mac Allister. Danny Welbeck opened the scoring for the Seagulls, with the former Arsenal and Manchester United man sublimely dinking over Ilan Meslier after poor defending from Diego Llorente (21). Matuesz Klich was denied by a brilliant save from Robert Sanchez, with the Spaniard colliding with his post in the process. Leeds went close in the second half to levelling the scoring, with Raphinha’s free kick crashing against the woodwork. Jack Harrison, Mateusz Klich and Joe Gelhardt all had chances on goal but Raphinha’s miss nearly had Elland Road in raptures but his effort went agonisingly wide. But the hosts did find their goal in the second minute of time added on, as Pascal Struijk met Joe Gelhardt’s cross at the far post to head in for a priceless point (90+2). "In the first half we created some really good opportunities. We had lots of good play, good opportunities and got into the final third and the box a lot. But, in fairness, in the second half Rob [Sanchez] had to make a couple of good saves, so I wouldn’t begrudge Leeds their point.  We probably needed the second goal to kill it off, and Danny’s chance was the best one, but that’s football. We didn’t get it and in the end you always leave yourself open to that. I’m proud of the players though because it was a tough game, a tough environment, and a tough challenge for us in terms of how much it meant for the opposition. It meant a lot for us, of course, but we haven’t got the knife to our throat in terms of relegation, so I think we performed really well. Overall, the result was probably about right and in a tough environment, against an opponent fighting for everything, we take the point." Graham Potter told MyAlbion TV that he felt a point was a fair result as relegation-battling Leeds grabbed a late equaliser at Elland Road.

Hammers Hold City

West Ham did their bit to ensure that the Premier League title race went to the final day as they held league leaders Manchester City to a 2-2 draw.

The Hammers made the most of an uncharacteristic first half display from Man City as Jarrod Bowen scored two goals but City came back strong in the second half, with goals from Jack Grealish and a Vladimir Coufal own goal levelled the scoring. The result means the Hammers could still secure a Europa League spot, but they must win this encounter against Brighton and hope that United don't win against Crystal Palace. Manchester City were denied a clear penalty early on when Gabriel Jesus was fouled by Kurt Zouma, only VAR will know how they missed it. It did come back to haunt City as Jarrod Bowen gave the Hammers the lead in the 24th minute, with the winger rounding Ederson after a great pass from Pablo Fornals. And it was 2-0 just before the break as Bowen found himself in acres of space behind the City defence again, Michail Antonio’s pass was fired into the bottom corner in the 45th minute. Jack Grealish pulled one back for City four minutes after the break, with the former Villa man’s deflected volleyenough to beat Lukasz Fabianski (49). City were level 20 minutes later (69) when Vladimir Coufal headed Riyad Mahrez’s cross into his own net as the visitors made it 2-2. And City had the chance to take all three points and a six point lead when they were awarded a penalty as Gabriel Jesus was bundled down by Craig Dawson. But it wasn’t to be for City as Lukasz Fabianski saved Riyad Mahrez’s poor penalty and the match ended 2-2. "I thought 'my goodness, City have had so much of the ball'. We couldn’t get the ball off them and I was saying: 'How are we going to wrestle this game back?'. Even at 2-0 up – even if we’d have been 4-0 up – I think I’d still have been thinking that Man City could come back, because they’re that good a team. To go 2-0 up against Man City, not many teams do that. We knew that if we could get the ball in behind them and let Mick [Antonio] and Jarrod have a run, we might be okay. It was just that we couldn’t get enough of the ball to secure that and even in the areas we needed to make the passes, we couldn’t get the ball into the areas we needed to make the passes in the first place. I’ve got to say Man City were so, so good today, but to take a 2-0 lead was big for us at the time." David Moyes told WHUTV that it was a monumental performance and an important point as his side drew 2-2 against Manchester City.

Betting Tips

  • BTTS @ 11/20
  • Neal Maupay to score first @ 4/1
  • Jarrod Bowen to score first @ 11/2

Burnley vs Newcastle - 16:00 - Sunday 22nd May 2022

 

Burnley @ 13/10       Draw @ 9/4       Newcastle @ 2/1

Burnley: WWLLD

Newcastle: WWLLW

 

Burnley face Newcastle on the final day of the season knowing that a win will keep them in the Premier League.

The Clarets clawed their way out of the relegation zone on goal difference after their draw against Aston Villa. Ashley Barnes' 45th minute penalty was cancelled out by Emiliano Beundia's smart second half finish as the game ended 1-1. A win for Burnley in this their final game will be enough to keep them in the league, even if Leeds win there is a difference of 20 goals in their goal difference, so Burnley's fate is firmly in their own hands. Nick Pope was at full stretch early on, with the Burnley keeper continuing his excellent recent form with two saves to deny John McGinn. But it was Burnley who took the lead from the penalty spot on the stroke of half time, after Emiliano Buendia fouled Maxwel Cornet. Ashley Barnes stepped up to convert as the visitors took a one nil lead (45). Buendia made amends three minutes after the break after the Argentine volley Villa back to level pegging (48). Danny Ings & Bertrand Traore both had shots at goal to double Villa’s lead, but at the other end Wout Weghorst missed a golden opportunity to give Burnley the lead again, but Tyrone Mings had other ideas. Burnley ended the game with ten men as Matthew Lowton was sent off for serious foul play in the 91st minute. "It’s a good point, it’s a tough place to come. We knew we would be under the hammer at times, but it is an unbelievable performance in regards of work-rate and grafting, that discipline and desire, it wasn’t pretty but at this stage of the season, it was needed tonight. He (Nick Pope) has been amazing, he’s done that before and we’re going to need him. He’s a top, top goalkeeper if you look at his performances, we’re lucky to have him, he’s been terrific, and he was brilliant again. It’s a shame that we couldn’t have held out, but it’s a terrific point for us. We’ve had a group of guys tonight who have really gone for that with their work-rate and desire. We’ve given ourselves a good chance and you always want that, we’ve got the confidence, but we know there’s a lot of hard work still to go, there’s 90 minutes of work if we want to achieve what we want to, and that’s our goal, to rest up now and be ready for Sunday. They are used to going to those places where they have to dig, and they’ve been in those moments before, so they are comfortable with being uncomfortable and they showed that tonight, we could have had a bit more quality but it was an important point." Interim manager Mike Jackson gave his verdict to Clarets+ on their draw away to Aston Villa.

Magpies Home Delights

Eddie Howe's side ended their second half of the campaign in style as they secured a 2-0 win over Arsenal at St. James' Park.

An own goal from Ben White and a late entry from Bruno Guimaraes ensured that Newcastle ended their campaign at home in impressive style with just the defeat against Liverpool this calendar year at St. James'. The Magpies had the best chance of the first half, as Allan Saint Maximin cut in on his favoured right foot and fired a low arrowed shot at goal, but Aaron Ramsdale was equal to it. Newcastle did take the lead in the 55th minute when Joelinton broke down the left hand side and delivered a cross that forced an own goal from Ben White. Wilson produced an excellent performance on his first start following a long injury lay off, with the skipper instrumental in the goal and in giving the Gunners defence a torrid night. Jacob Murphy missed a fantastic chance to give the Magpies a deserved 2-0 lead but he couldn’t capitalise on Newcastle’s counter attack after a mistake from Pepe, with the substitute firing straight at Ramsdale. Newcastle eventually did double their lead, with Bruno Guimaraes following up when Wilson was denied by Ramdale with five minutes remaining (85). Big turnaround from that game [defeat at Arsenal in his first game in the dugout]. That was a really frustrating day. We left the stadium that day in a difficult moment. We knew we had a massive second half of the season. Luckily the players responded brilliantly to the challenge. "This was the best performance since my arrival. The motivation was personal pride and performing in front of our supporters and leaving on a good note into the summer. We were very aggressive, good physically. It's not an easy game, Arsenal are top quality. Credit to the players. We knew this was something we hadn't achieved - getting something against the top six. In the future we'll have to compete against these teams. We have to have confidence we can win anywhere. This will help us today." Newcastle boss Eddie Howe gave his thoughts on the Newcastle's win over Arsenal to BBC Sport.

Betting Tips

  • Total Goals - Under 2.5 Goals @ 4/5
  • Maxwel Cornet to score first @ 4/1
  • Callum Wilson to score first @ 4/1

Chelsea vs Watford - 16:00 - Sunday 22nd May 2022

 

Chelsea @ 1/7      Draw @ 13/2       Watford @ 16/1

Chelsea: DLDWD

Watford: LLLDL

 

Chelsea face Watford at Stamford Bridge in their final game of the season with the Blues looking to secure a much needed home win to end on.

Chelsea's poor season continued as they were held to a 1-1 draw by Leicester at Stamford Bridge, the Foxes took the lead through James Maddison but Marcos Alonso spared any blue blushes as his volley levelled the scoring. It's another disappointing result and performance, particularly at home, the season can only be described as a failure, particularly by the Blues lofty standards. James Maddison gave Leicester a shock early lead, with the midfielder rifling the ball past Eduoard Mendy from outside the penalty area to put the Foxes 1-0 up in the sixth minute. Trevor Chalobah and Romelu Lukaku had chances to draw Chelsea level, but Chalobah fired over and Daniel Amartey came to Leicester’s rescue to deny Lukaku. Marcos Alonso did equalise for the hosts in the 35th minute, with a left footed volley from a brilliant Reece James cross was fired past Kasper Scmeichel to make it 1-1. Chelsea looked to turn the screw in the second half, but Christian Pulisic missed a golden opportunity from close range. Romelu Lukaku headed wide from inside the box and Antonio Rudiger was also denied as neither side could find the winner. "We were the better team and deserved to win. We did what was needed and got a point. We did not allow anything, no chances for Leicester, but we got punished with a shot outside the box. We created enough to win, did not allow transitions or chances so I’m absolutely fine with the performance. It’s a bit of a broken record - we did not take what we deserved but I think it was okay what we did. It’s the story of the season. We need an assist from a wing-back and a goal from a wing-back. You can see the numbers of our offensive players and you can see the numbers from the teams in front of us. Still today was the day we secured third place, we have been all season in the top three and we have in mind where we come from. We had some obstacles to overcome and some circumstances around the club which was not easy so full credit to the team. It is a big step in consistency for us and maybe it doesn’t feel like this because the gap is so big to the top two teams. We have stuff to improve and we are the first ones to admit that." Thomas Tuchel was left with mixed emotions when he spoke to Chelsea TV after watching his side draw at home in their penultimate game of the season.

Hornets Hammered By Foxes

Watford finished their home campaign in the Premier League with one of their biggest defeats.

Roy Hodgson's side were hammered 5-1 by Leicester in their final home game of the season, with James Maddison, Jamie Vardy (2) and Harvey Barnes (2) completing the scoring for Leicester, who went behind initially to Joao Pedro's sixth minute goal. The hosts took the lead through Joao Pedro in just the 6th minute, with the forward capitalising on more poor defending from a Leicester set piece, volleying past Danny Ward in the Foxes goal. Watford struck the bar from another set piece, with Messina the Hornets left back the first to a drop down as Leicester were yet again ruthlessly exposed in a set piece. Danny Ward pulled off an excellent save to deny Joao Pedro, with the Welsh international dive low to his left enough to prevent Pedro and Watford from doubling their lead. From there it was all Leicester, with the Foxes equalising through James Maddison after a defensive mix up on 18 minutes saw the ball drop to the number ten. Leicester took the lead four minutes later, as Jamie Vardy headed over Ben Foster into the Watford net to make it 2-1. Barnes made it 3-1 a minute into the second half, with a superb left footed volley past Foster, completing a special move from Brendan Rodgers’ side. Vardy scored his second with twenty minutes to go (70), bringing down Barnes’ lofted ball and dinking past Ben Foster to make it 4-1. And Harvey Barnes completed the scoring with another first time strike in the 86th minute as Leicester won the game 5-1. "I thought we had enough threat in our attacking play to keep us in the game, but defensively we contrived to facilitate further Leicester goals, including an early goal in second half. Our mistakes have made for a very bad afternoon for the team today. We were architects of our own downfall in nearly every respect, so here I am apologising to our supporters for ending the season in such an insipid fashion. It was the antithesis of what we were hoping for after the performance on Wednesday [against Everton]. Leicester punished the mistakes that we made and that aggravated the score. They took far better advantage of our mistakes. I was really impressed with their support today. I have more than respect for the fans of Watford Football Club and I think they’ve been excellent throughout the season in staying with us, as they have done. I'm sure they'll give the new manager and coaching staff plenty of backing. They certainly are a 12th man because of their patience and understanding." Manager Roy Hodgson told www.watfordfc.com that he was disappointed in the manner of the defeat after losing to Leicester City 5-1.

Betting Tips

  • BTTS - No @ 7/10
  • Kai Havertz to score first @ 3/1
  • Emmanuel Dennis to score first @ 11/1

Crystal Palace vs Man United - 16:00 - Sunday 22nd May 2022

 

Crystal Palace @ 19/10      Draw @ 5/2       Man United @ 5/1

Crystal Palace: DWWDL

Man United: LLDWL

 

Crystal Palace host Man United in their final game of the season with the Eagles surrendering a 2-0 lead in their last game.

Palace took a 2-0 lead at the Toffees on Thursday evening, with goals from Mateta and Ayew, but they were stunned as Frank Lampard's side rallied in the second half, with goals from Michael Keane and Richarlison levelled the scoring before Dominic Calvert Lewin's winner in the 85th minute. It's another tough defeat for Vieiria to swallow, his side have lost countless points from winning positions this year but despite that he'll look on his debut season in Premier League management with great fondness. Everton made a great start as Richarlison’s free kick in the 16th minute clipped the bar. Palace did take the lead in the 21st minute, as Jean Phillippe Mateta headed the Eagles in front, converting from an Eberchi Eze cross to make it 1-0 to Vieiria’s side. Jordan Ayew could and possibly should have been sent off for a poor challenge on Anthony Gordon, but instead he received a yellow which allowed him to remain on the pitch to bundle home Palace’s second of the night in the 36th minute. Everton pulled one back nine minutes after the restart (54) from an unlikely source, with Michael Keane’s cool finish with the outside of his boot enough to beat Jack Butland in the Palace goal. Richarlison hauled the hosts level with 15 minutes remaining, his deflected shot off Conor Gallagher looping over the hand of Butland and into the Palace goal to make it 2-2. And Everton sealed the comeback win five minutes from time (85), as Dominic Calvert Lewin’s header from a Demarai Gray free kick was enough to win the game. "We allowed them to build a momentum and confidence. It's about managing the game at 2-0 but we gave them hope. We invited pressure which woke up the crowd and then they made it difficult for us. When were 2-0 up, we had the chance to score a third which would've been game over. But the discipline we had in possession in the first half we didn't show in the second. We lost control of the game. These are the types of games which will help us learn a lot. We started to showboat a little bit instead of playing simple. That comes with maturity." Patrick Vieira conceded to Sky Sports that Crystal Palace couldn’t cope with Everton’s fight in the second half after the home team came back to win 3-2 and secure their Premier League survival.

The Worst of United

Manchester United come into the game having suffered a new low as they were annihilated by Brighton at the Amex.

Ralf Ragnick's side put it one of their worst performances of the season as they were hammered by Brighton at the Amex, some accolade given the Liverpool performances alone. Goals from Caicedo, Cucurella, Gross and Trossard put United to the sword. Brighton took the lead in the 15th minute through Moses Caicedo, it was the Ecudaorian’s first Premier League goal, one that will sting as the Seagulls beat United to his signing. Former Red Devil Danny Welbeck missed a glorious chance to double the Seagulls lead, as Raphael Varane’s poor defending put him through on goal, but Welbeck could only lift the ball over the bar. Marc Cucurella doubled Brighton’s lead four minutes into the second half, with the Spanish full back lifting the ball into the roof of the United net for his first Premier League goal (49). Pascal Gross made it 3-0 for the Seagulls, with the German scoring his first Premier League goal of the season as he coolly slotted past De Gea after a great ball from Leandro Trossard in the 57th minute. Three minutes later it was 4-0, as Leandro Trossard turned from provider to scorer, bundling the ball over the line. The Belgian could and should have had a fifth, but Diogo Dalot’s intervention ensured the ball hit the post and went out for a corner. Danny Welbeck hit the post late on but Brighton were unable to add to an already impressive 4-0 scoreline, with United well and truly on the beach. "Yes it was [a poor performance]. From the first to the last minute this was not enough and in all-important areas we were second best. To start with we can only apologise to our supporters, it was a terrible performance and a humiliating defeat. It was a completely different game and today from the first minute we allowed them too much time, too much space and we were never able to be in a position to stop them playing through our lines. The game plan was completely different, we told the players to be as compact as we could possibly be but we couldn’t stop them. We had big problems with their width through their wing-backs, we couldn't stop their wing-backs as they were always pretty high and wide. For us it was whenever they played the diagonal ball we struggled with those balls although we told our full-backs that they should get out earlier. It was very, very difficult to stop them in the first half at all and in the second half we took the risk to bring Edi [Cavani] on as a second striker and Fred and went to a 4-4-2. In hindsight it was maybe a little bit of a risk to play a 4-4-2 against them, but we had to try and change the energy. Today we were second best in all relevant areas." Manchester United interim boss Ralf Rangnick reflected to MUTV on their 4-0 defeat against Brighton in the Premier League and admitted the fans deserve an apology.

Betting Tips

  • Total Goals - Over 2.5 Goals @ 4/6
  • Wilfried Zaha to score first @ 4/1
  • Cristiano Ronaldo to score first @ 11/4

Leicester vs Southampton - 16:00 - Sunday 22nd May 2022

 

Leicester @ 20/23      Draw @ 14/5       Southampton @ 27/10

Leicester: LLWWD

Southampton: LDLLL

 

Leicester host Southampton on the final day of the Premier League season, with the Foxes looking to end on a high after a disappointing campaign overall.

The Foxes will be looking to finish the season in the top ten and ideally on 52 points, a total that could well see them move above Wolves into eighth place, which would be a remarkable achievement given how bad they've been by their own recent standards. They come into the game having secured a good point away to Chelsea, with James Maddison's goal cancelled out by Marcos Alonso. James Maddison gave Leicester a shock early lead, with the midfielder rifling the ball past Eduoard Mendy from outside the penalty area to put the Foxes 1-0 up in the sixth minute. Trevor Chalobah and Romelu Lukaku had chances to draw Chelsea level, but Chalobah fired over and Daniel Amartey came to Leicester’s rescue to deny Lukaku. Marcos Alonso did equalise for the hosts in the 35th minute, with a left footed volley from a brilliant Reece James cross was fired past Kasper Scmeichel to make it 1-1. Chelsea looked to turn the screw in the second half, but Christian Pulisic missed a golden opportunity from close range. Romelu Lukaku headed wide from inside the box and Antonio Rudiger was also denied as neither side could find the winner. "We got off to a great start. Wonderful goal. Terrific play and James' finish was superb. You know when you play against Chelsea you're going to have to defend well and be super concentrated. The players were that. We're disappointed with the goal - he obviously gets in at the back post. Apart from that, concentration levels were good. We didn't have too many scares. We defended corners well. It was the very least the players deserved. It's a top level squad, they're last year's European champions. They have players in tight spaces who are very very accomplished. If you give them too much space they will hurt you. We've seen that already this season. For this game, it's a deeper space you have to play in. There weren't too many opportunities and if you can do that coming to Stamford Bridge, it shows how good your organisation was." Brendan Rodgers told Sky Sports that he was really proud of his players in their 1-1 draw against Chelsea and was full of praise for goal scorer and Leicester's player of the season James Maddison.

Saints Edged By Reds

Southampton suffered a fourth defeat in their last five matches as a much changed Liverpool side beat them 2-1 at St. Mary's.

The Saints took the lead through Nathan Redmond's deflected effort but the Reds roared back, with goals from Takumi Minamino and Joel Matip enough to condemn the Saints to their 15th defeat of the season. Ralph Hasenhuttl's side have little left to play for, if they were to win they would end the season on 43 points but the best finish they can achieve is 15th place. "They really supported us this season fantastically. We had some really good moments here at home, we had a long run unbeaten in our own ground, which we hadn't had for a long time, and in the end we couldn't really hold the level high and this is a little bit frustrating for us, but they know how important they are for us. We had a fantastic start today, exactly what we wanted. We scored a beautiful goal from Reddy, then you defend in and around the box in a certain way and the pressure was coming more, and then we conceded too easily the first goal, I must say. Then the second half they had one or two good ones where they don't score, and we had then a corner against us where we can clear the ball at the near post and we don't do it. Very unlucky the goal we conceded, but it's a little bit showing what happened in the last weeks, in the decisive moments not good enough in defending and then you get punished in the Premier League. We didn't want to get exposed, because they still have a lot of quality on the pitch and a lot of speed when they attack and you lose the ball." Ralph Hasenhüttl admitted to SFC Media that Southampton were lacking in the decisive moments, as title contenders Liverpool mounted a comeback at St Mary's to beat them 2-1.

Betting Tips

  • BTTS @ 4/9
  • Jamie Vardy to score first @ 12/5
  • James Ward Prowse to score first @ 6/1

Liverpool vs Wolves - 16:00 - Sunday 22nd May 2022 - Sky Sports

 

Liverpool @ 2/13       Draw @ 6/1       Wolves @ 16/1

Liverpool: WWDWW

Wolves: LLDLD

 

Liverpool host Wolves in their final game of the season with the Quadruple dream still alive and kicking.

Jurgen Klopp's side know they have to win, but even that won't be enough if City beat Liverpool old boy Steven Gerrard and his Villa side. The Reds come into the game having overcome Southampton, with goals from Takumi Minamino and Joel Matip enough to cancel out Nathan Redmond's opener. The Saints took a shock lead in the 13th minute when Nathan Redmond’s deflected effort flew past Allison to make it 1-0. Replays showed Liverpool were a touch unlucky, with Lyanco blatantly fouling Jota in the build up. Takumi Minamino, who was at Southampton on loan last season, levelled for Jurgen Klopp’s side in the 27th minute, thumping his effort into the top corner, there was nothing Alex McCarthy could have done about it. Liverpool put their foot down after that, with Harvey Elliott and Diogo Jota both missing chances to put the Reds in front. But Klopp’s side did eventually find the winner, in the luckiest of circumstances, with a Joel Matip header incredibly finding it’s way into the top corner of the Southampton net in the 67th minute. "I think [it was] an incredible performance as well, making nine changes. If it wouldn’t have worked out it would have been one thousand per cent my responsibility. Now, it worked out and it’s one thousand per cent the boys’ responsibility because I can ask for a lot, [but] the boys have to do it. I thought they did exceptionally well. I saw incredible performances tonight. I saw a group reacting to a blow; I didn’t see it back, the [Jota] situation, [but] at least I thought it was a clear foul. In these situations you can lose nerves, or whatever, a little bit. The boys on the pitch not at all. They just kept going. We scored a disallowed goal, we scored a goal - Taki’s goal - [we] controlled the game [and] you know much better than me how Southampton want to play. They want to go for us, and press and stuff like this. We played in all the spaces they couldn’t get us. So, that calmed the atmosphere down, obviously, and it became more a normal game and not the game Southampton wanted. That was good second half [and we] scored the second goal. Great. Actually, I’m so happy about the performance, it was a bit touching. Honestly, wow. These boys. [It’s] like having Ferraris in the garage and you let them out and they directly do it like this. It’s really tough for the boys, sometimes, but whatever happens this year happens because of this group. It’s exceptional, and tonight they showed that again." Jürgen Klopp told LFC TV that he was proud of Liverpool’s battling capabilities after their 2-1 victory over Southampton on Tuesday night.

Wolves Winless

Wolves come into the game having been held by bottom side Norwich as their season looks set for a disappointing ending.

Bruno Lage's men could be heading for an eight game winless run to end the season on, this despite it being a very good season both in terms of their current position but also as a first season under Lage. Their last game was a 1-1 draw at home to bottom club Norwich, a game where the visitors could and maybe should have registered a precious win. Teemu Pukki's goal was cancelled out by Rayan Ait Nouri's header. Teemu Pukki missed a great chance early on, with the Iceland international put clear through on goal but he managed to pull his effort wide of the target. He had another chance to put the visitors ahead but his right footed shot was blocked and Willy Boly came to the rescue to prevent Kieran Dowell from producing a follow up shot. Pukki did make amends with his 11th goal of the season in the 37th minute, the forward firing his effort through the legs of Wolves captain Connor Coady to make it 1-0 to the Canaries. Rayan Ait Nouri pulled one back for Wolves ten minutes after the break, it was his first goal of the campaign as he headed in from inside the six yard box after the Canaries failed to clear a Wolves free kick (55). Pedro Neto was denied at the death by Angus Gunn, with the Norwich keeper producing a superb save to deny the winger the chance to rescue the points for the hosts, who will now miss out on European football next season. Teemu Pukki missed a golden chance for Norwich at the other end, with his effort curled wide of the target but it makes no difference for Dean Smith’s side, who have already been relegated. "Firstly, I’m frustrated over the result, but also over the history of the results of the last month, April and May – it’s been easy to score goals against us. In the Premier League, no matter who it’s against, whether it’s the first in the table or the last in the table, it’s always hard to come back. But we tried to do our best, we changed the dynamic a little bit and we scored one, we should have scored more, but it’s a draw. It’s not good for us and especially for me because I’m not happy. We wanted to finish the season at home with a good performance and a good victory for the fans because they supported us all season. They’ve been there for us since day one and they’ve been amazing supporting us. It’s about the standards. The games are about the balance, and in the last month, we’ve been suffering first. The first goal has come for the opponent and sometimes they come when we are controlling the game and trying to find our spaces to play. Today, we were controlling the game, and two passes between our team, with the striker in front of the goal, and it’s too easy to score goals, and that’s so frustrating." Bruno Lage told Wolves TV that he was left frustrated that his side were unable to give the Wolves supporters a win in their final match of the season at Molineux, after having to settle for a draw against Norwich City.

Betting Tips

  • Total Goals - Under 2.5 Goals @ 13/8
  • Mohamed Salah to score first @ 23/10
  • Raul Jimenez to score first @ 16/1

Man City vs Aston Villa - 16:00 - Sunday 22nd May 2022 - Sky Sports

 

Man City @ 2/15       Draw @ 13/2       Aston Villa @ 18/1

Man City: WWWWD

Aston Villa: WWLDD

 

Manchester City host Aston Villa in their final game of the season with the title race very much still in the balance.

Pep Guardiola's side come into the game with a very narrow lead over Liverpool, with just a point separating the two sides. The media have dubbed it as Gerrard's best chance to win Liverpool a title. City come into the game having slipped up against West Ham, with the Sky Blues conceding two Jarrod Bowen goals in a poor first half but then producing a great second half with Jack Grealish and a Vladimir Coufal own goal enough to make it 2-2 at full time. "We knew we had tough games. West Ham away after an exceptional performance against Wolves - we knew it - we needed four points - and now there is no debate about goal difference, and no debate about anything, we just have to just to win our game and if we don’t, Liverpool will be champions. I can assure you of something - in one week our stadium will be sold out, will give them our lives and they will give theirs, all together. To do this is an incredible privilege, after many years together. It is incredible.To have our chance with our people, to win one game to be champions. I’m looking forward to it." Pep Guardiola told City+ that his players will give ‘the game of their lives’ against Aston Villa and is urging the City fans to do the same.

Villa Held By Clarets

Aston Villa come into the game having been held at home by a stubborn Burnley side battling relegation.

Steven Gerrard's side come into the game knowing that he could help Liverpool secure a second title in three years as his side face City on the final day. A win could conceivably lift Villa to 10th in the table depending on other results. Their last game ended in a 1-1 draw at Burnley, with Ashley Barnes' penalty matched by Buendia's goal. Nick Pope was at full stretch early on, with the Burnley keeper continuing his excellent recent form with two saves to deny John McGinn. But it was Burnley who took the lead from the penalty spot on the stroke of half time, after Emiliano Buendia fouled Maxwel Cornet. Ashley Barnes stepped up to convert as the visitors took a one nil lead (45). Buendia made amends three minutes after the break after the Argentine volley Villa back to level pegging (48). Danny Ings & Bertrand Traore both had shots at goal to double Villa’s lead, but at the other end Wout Weghorst missed a golden opportunity to give Burnley the lead again, but Tyrone Mings had other ideas. Burnley ended the game with ten men as Matthew Lowton was sent off for serious foul play in the 91st minute. "In these situations, moving forward, we need to be better and show more quality. I’m pleased with a lot of our play, we got into some good areas and their ‘keeper’s been on top form tonight. I thought we did enough to win the game but I’m disappointed to let two points go again. We had 16,17 efforts tonight and we’ve managed to score one goal, so that’s on us to improve. We need to give them more. We need to come back better and stronger and give this crowd more because they’ve been fantastic with me and us since we came in the door, and so have our away fans." Steven Gerrard told Villa TV that he felt Aston Villa fell victim to familiar flaws in their 1-1 draw against Burnley on Thursday night.

Betting Tips

  • Total Goals - Over 2.5 Goals @ 4/9
  • Riyad Mahrez to score first @ 16/5
  • Ollie Watkins to score first @ 14/1

Norwich vs Tottenham - 16:00 - Sunday 22nd May 2022

 

Norwich @ 11/1       Draw @ 11/2       Tottenham @ 1/5

Norwich: LLLLD

Tottenham: DWDWW

 

Norwich host Tottenham this weekend with this game deciding who will secure the final Champions League spot next season.

This is also the Canaries final Premier League game for the next season at least, with Dean Smith's side making the all too familiar trip back down to the Championship. A win here could see them move about Watford into 19th so there is an incentive there.

They faced Wolves in their previous game, with Teemu Pukki's opener cancelled out by a first goal of the season for Rayan Ait Nouri.

Teemu Pukki missed a great chance early on, with the Iceland international put clear through on goal but he managed to pull his effort wide of the target.

He had another chance to put the visitors ahead but his right footed shot was blocked and Willy Boly came to the rescue to prevent Kieran Dowell from producing a follow up shot.

Pukki did make amends with his 11th goal of the season in the 37th minute, the forward firing his effort through the legs of Wolves captain Connor Coady to make it 1-0 to the Canaries.

Rayan Ait Nouri pulled one back for Wolves ten minutes after the break, it was his first goal of the campaign as he headed in from inside the six yard box after the Canaries failed to clear a Wolves free kick (55).

Pedro Neto was denied at the death by Angus Gunn, with the Norwich keeper producing a superb save to deny the winger the chance to rescue the points for the hosts, who will now miss out on European football next season.

Teemu Pukki missed a golden chance for Norwich at the other end, with his effort curled wide of the target but it makes no difference for Dean Smith’s side, who have already been relegated.

"It was a pleasing performance. It’s certainly a thanks to our supporters who have travelled away all through the season. This was the last away journey, and they will have been pleased with what they saw.

It was a really disciplined first half, without the ball. We have allowed their outside centre backs to have the ball and stopped (Rúben) Neves and (João) Moutinho from opening us up. We restricted them to very few chances.

I thought if Teemu (Pukki) had had his normal shooting boots on he would have probably scored a hat-trick in the first half, but he got the one and I am pleased for him because the runs he made today were excellent. He caused them problems, which you saw with Conor Coady coming off at half-time.

It was to stop the bleeding. We had conceded too many goals over the last three games since we got relegated and conceded too many big chances.

So, we wanted an extra man at the back and we felt the players that we wanted to have the ball, from their team, were their two outside centre-backs and we did that well. We also wanted to stop their sixes getting too much time and space on the ball and we also did that well."

Norwich City head coach Dean Smith told Canaries TV his side put in a disciplined performance against Wolverhampton Wanderers as Norwich City came away from Molineux Stadium with a 1-1 draw.

Tottenham In Driving Seat

Antonio Conte's side come into the final game of the season in the driving seat for Champions League football.

Their 1-0 win over Burnley combined with Arsenal's terrible result against Newcastle means that Tottenham have Champions League qualification in the palm of their hands as they face the Premier League's bottom side.

A Harry Kane penalty was enough to beat the 18th placed side in Burnley and Tottenham will be confident of securing the win they need to qualify for next seasons Champions League.

Kane nearly went one better but his effort was cleared off the line by Nathan Collins, with Burnley really riding their luck at this stage.

Burnley had an excellent chance to take the lead on the half hour mark, with Maxwel Cornet left one on one with Hugo Lloris, but the French keeper prevailed.

Tottenham eventually took the lead in the 8th minute of first half stoppage time, with the hosts awarded a spot kick after a handball in the box by Ashley Barnes, an incident that was reviewed by the VAR.

Kane stepped up to convert his 13th Premier League goal of the season, giving Tottenham a vital lead not only in the match but also potentially in the race for Champions League football.

Barnes nearly made amends as his 20 yard strike from distance hit the outside of the post in the 62nd minute.

Tottenham pressed for a second but Heung Min Son was unable to find a way past Nick Pope, who was the man of the match despite being on the losing side. The game ending 1-0 to Antonio Conte’s side.

"It’s a massive win, another must-win game for us, only one result - to get three points, to put pressure onto Arsenal.

Now, in this moment, we’re two points up. For sure, the situation is still in their hands because they have two games to play, but you know very well in England, it’s not simple to win.

Burnley came here to play a defensive game, well-organised, no spaces for us. Despite this, I have seen the maturity of my team today.

I’m delighted to see the improvement of these players. Maybe, three months ago, in this type of game, we’d risk losing. Instead, our heads were cold, and we faced the game in the right way.

For sure, if we scored one more goal, we’d be more relaxed in the last 10, 15 minutes, and we had chances to improve the final result, but the most important thing was to keep the clean sheet, to get the three points and to finish in this way.

Until the end (of the season) we are in this race (for fourth place), and that’s a big achievement. I have to thank the players because they showed me from the first day great commitment, great attitude, great behaviour and they decided to improve and become strong."

Antonio Conte highlighted the maturity of the players to Spurs TV after securing a crucial 1-0 win against Burnley in our final home match of the 2021/22 Premier League campaign on Sunday.

Betting Tips

  • BTTS - No @ 10/11
  • Teemu Pukki to score first @ 13/2
  • Son Heung Min to score first @ 21/10